Smoked Paprika Orange Salmon with Wilted Spinach

Have you had luck with the recipes you see in advertisements? I have many clipped ad recipes stored away in files, but I don’t recall ever making one until now.

I made this recipe twice in the last few months. The first time I made it I knew it was blog worthy, but I didn’t have a source for the recipe. How odd, I’m usually diligent about giving credit to my recipe sources and inspirations. I finally had time to search for the original recipe name on Google and was led to McCormick website. I must have found it in an advertisement in one of my cooking magazines. Did I use any McCormick spices in this recipe? Why yes, I did, my thyme and cinnamon are from McCormick. But no, I did not receive any compensation for this post. As if.

This is an easy and quick (outside of marination time) recipe to make for dinner. I love the spice rub. I changed it a bit from the original. The smoked paprika is not overwhelming. The orange comes through with a hint of cinnamon. There’s just enough, but not too much, sweetness.

Don’t forget to leave enough time for a 30-minute marinade. It’s so frustrating to get ready to cook only to realize you need to marinate first. Aargh.

spicy orange salmon recipe

Spicy Orange Salmon with Wilted Spinach

You’ll need a baking dish, small bowl and a large skillet.

  • 3 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons dried thyme, divided
  • 2 large salmon fillets (could be anywhere from 1 to 1-1/2 pounds)
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated orange peel
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Cooking spray or olive oil
  • Baby spinach – use as much as you want, up to a full bag (10 oz), remember it will reduce considerably while cooking

Mix orange juice, oil and 1/2 teaspoon of the thyme in a baking dish big enough for the salmon fillets. Add salmon and coat both sides with the marinade. Cover and refrigerate at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400. Mix brown sugar, smoked paprika, cinnamon, orange peel, remaining teaspoon thyme and salt in a small bowl. Remove salmon from marinade. Discard any remaining marinade. Clean dish. Spray the dish with cooking spray or brush it with olive oil. Place the salmon back in the baking dish.

Press the smoked paprika mixture on top of the fillets. Put dish in the oven and roast 10 to 15 minutes or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.

While salmon is cooking, heat oil in large skillet on medium heat. Add spinach; cook 2 minutes or until wilted. Season. Serve salmon over spinach.

Original recipe: Smoked-Paprika-Roasted-Salmon-with-Wilted-Spinach, McCormick advertisement

Leave a Reply

