Pork Milanese

We’ve all been there. You have absolutely no idea what to make for dinner, and time is running out. There’s no way you have the energy it takes to cook a decent meal. Take-out, anyone? But you really want to have a proper dinner. Take heart, I have a solution: Pork (or Chicken) Milanese. It’s quick, delicious, and doesn’t take too much effort, plus, you can pound out your stress.

I could eat Pork Milanese once a week, but I know I’ll have those nights when I need my old stand-by so I save it for those desperate moments. I love getting a hit of lemon with the crunchy coating and the tender tasty pork inside.

The original recipe on the Food & Wine website uses 1/4” of olive oil in the skillet. I don’t use nearly that much. I add just enough to cook the cutlets, perhaps two tablespoons. You have to play with your heat if you have an electric stove to keep the temperature hot enough to cook the meat but not so hot that the coating gets overly browned.

All my adult life I’ve had gas stoves until I moved here to North Carolina. Electric stoves suck! Ok, maybe that’s an over-reaction, but I can’t get that same control of heat like I could with gas. It’s high then low then high, ugh. I must be getting better at it because I don’t curse nearly as much while cooking, but if I ever have too much money hanging around, I’ll convert this kitchen to gas.

Enough bitching. Enjoy this quick dinner. It’s a great addition to the quick meal repertoire.

pork cutlet milanese recipe

Pork Milanese

You’ll need a meat pounder/mallet, two plates, two wide shallow bowls, large skillet, and some paper towels.

  • 4 pork boneless cutlets, pounded 1/4 inch thick
  • Salt (or garlic salt) and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 2/3 cup panko crumbs (Japanese bread crumbs)
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan or Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (2 ounces)
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • Olive oil, for frying
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

Season the cutlets with salt and pepper. Put the flour on a plate and the egg in a shallow bowl. In another shallow bowl, mix the panko with the cheese, oregano, and nutmeg. Line a plate with paper towels.

Dredge the cutlets in the flour, tap off the excess, and then dip in the egg, allowing any excess egg to drip back into the bowl. Finally, coat the cutlets with the panko mixture, pressing to help the crumbs adhere.

Heat olive oil in the skillet until shimmering. Add the cutlets to the skillet and fry over medium-high heat, turning once, until crisp, golden brown and cooked through, about 4 minutes total. Drain the pork on the paper towel-lined plate. I usually squeeze lemon over the pork while it drains on the plate, and serve extra wedges on the side.

Original recipe: Crispy Pork Milanese, Food & Wine

One response to “Pork Milanese

  1. Pingback: Pork cutlet an a tower of vegetables | Yummy Lummy

Leave a Reply

