Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Chicken Parmesan or Parmigiana is a classic, comfort food recipe that’s easy and quick enough to make for a weeknight dinner. Serve with spaghetti or linguine marinara on the side. Garlic bread would be nice too. And red wine.

~~

Time flew away from me the other night and all of a sudden it was 7:00 pm. I was hungry and I hadn’t even thought about dinner. I had chicken breasts ready to go but no inspiration. So, as usually happens in these situations, I fall back to what I know from my Italian restaurant days – recipes that are imprinted in my brain. That usually means pasta, but when I opened the frig I saw tomato sauce, grated parmigiano and mozzarella. Inspired! Chicken parmigiana, the old-school Italian-American menu staple.

My first waiting job was the summer between my freshman and sophomore years in college. That was also the last summer I spent home in Massachusetts. My dad pulled some strings and arranged for me to get a job at his regular lunch place, George’s Cafe – a busy Italian restaurant in Brockton, MA. It’s been owned by the Tartaglia family for 70 years. One of the uncles worked for Rocky Marciano so there was boxing memorabilia all over the bar. Most of the staff were related somehow, either Tartaglias or Marcianos – all Sicilian-Americans and lifers in the restaurant industry. Charlie ran the place, often as maitre d’ on busy nights, all glammed up in his white suit, black shirt and gold pendant, working the crowd of regulars. His daughter, who was only a few years older than me, ran the kitchen and worked the sauté station. She was tough and had no patience for errors. I was the youngest and least experienced by far. I don’t think any of them thought I would last, but it turns out I was a natural at waiting tables.

One of the waitresses told me I’d never work in a place as strange as George’s. She might have been right. Their ordering system involved different colored pencils. We were called to pick up food with a coded bell system that was usually abused by impatient cooks. There were regular kitchen blow-ups that somehow ended up with us on the receiving end of a tirade or cooks exchanging blows out in the parking lot. But when things cooled down, they could be the nicest people. I learned how to deal with all kinds of customers, became a fast and efficient waitress and made some really good money considering I was working in a tough old city like Brockton.

The menu was typical old-school fare – veal, chicken, seafood, pasta and pizza. I see the same kind of menu still all over southern Massachusetts. The food was good and I still visit there sometimes when I go home. I once had the best spaghetti carbonara of my life there – I still think about it.

Chicken Parmesan recipe | Grabbing the Gusto

Chicken Parmesan | Grabbing the Gusto

Here’s how I make chicken parmigiana. You’ll need:

  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin
  • Dish of beaten egg, salt and pepper
  • Dish of bread crumbs mixed with some parmigiana cheese or green can parmesan
  • Olive oil
  • Marinara or jarred spaghetti sauce
  • Grated mozzarella cheese

Put some water on to boil for spaghetti or linguine. Dip the chicken in the egg wash and then in the bread crumb/cheese mixture, making sure to get all sides covered. Let them rest for 5-10 minutes. Heat up the oil and sauté the breasts on both sides until they’re golden-brown. Put them in a baking pan. Top each with some sauce and mozzarella. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes or until the chicken is done and the cheese just turns golden-brown.

Serve with spaghetti marinara and pour yourself a glass of red wine. Cin cin!

9 thoughts on “Old School Memories – Chicken Parmigiana

  1. Can you please come live at our house? This is how I make Chicken parm: make spaghetti. Take frozen Morningstar Farms Chik Patties and microwave. When spaghetti is done put on plate, top with chick patty, top with slice of mozarella and some jar sauce and microwave for 30 more seconds. Somehow I think yours would taste way better!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Ha ha! Mine isn’t really that much more work. It’s pretty hands off except for the dipping. When it’s on the stove or in the oven, you can just let it sit there while you watch Jeopardy.

  2. Shannon says:

    This sounds delicious, and looks so easy! I might actually make it tomorrow night. Thanks for the recipe, Deirdre!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Thanks for popping by, Shannon. Definitely make it — it’s great comfort food, and it is easy.

Leave a Reply

