Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Today it’s all about sexting, gingerbread, Tarantino clapper, abbatoir and beer.

Everyone in a relationship should read this one about sexting, yes, sexting. Don’t be a prude, let your honey know that you’re thinking about him (or her), you don’t need to get explicit. I first met Natasha Crawford at Ignite Raleigh. She was a fabulous presenter with lots of insight about improving relationships, well, she is a licensed therapist after all. I sexted my guy that night!

If you have any Guinness (or any stout or porter) left over from your festivities Wednesday night, you can put it to excellent use in this recipe for Gingerbread from Claudia Fleming. I haven’t been able to tear myself away from this recipe to make any other, it’s moist and incredibly delicious. Let me know if you try it.

Because I love Tarantino, this movie (Inglorious Basterds) and now this clapper lady, here’s a video showing her work. And god, what an alluring accent. I would like to come back in my next life as an indy film star who talks like that.

I love eating local but don’t do it as much as I used to in California and Virginia. That’s mostly due to me watching my wallet — launching a new business will do that to you — and not developing new shopping habits here. As I’m settling into the Raleigh area, I’m starting to get antsy about where I shop, and so I’m looking forward to farmers markets opening closer to me this spring. I like seeing stories like this one in the Washington Post about Joe Cloud (a true meat hero!) and his abbatoir (aka slaughterhouse) True & Essential Meats. It explains all the different ways that eating local meat is the best way to go for everyone, except maybe those feed lots and processors out west.

If ever you find yourself in downtown Chicago, check out Jake Melnick’s Corner Tap. They have an awesome beer list and friendly staff who know their beer and, if you’re sitting at the bar, might give you samplers too. In two visits last week, I tried a bunch of local brews — Metropolitan Krankshaft (kolsch), Goose Island Matilda (heavenly Belgian style pale ale, love this style!) and Green Line (pale ale), Two Brothers Monarch Wit and Half Acre Daisy Cutter (pale ale). Plus I had a Port Brewing Midnight Sessions (schwarzbier) from California that was out of this world, no surprise.

One thought on “Fabulous Finds for March 19, 2010

  1. Natasha says:

    Hey Deirdre

    Just came across this post while doing some narcissistic Googling. Thanks so much for listing me as a fabulous find! I’m honored. Hope you’re still sexting.

    Natasha

Leave a Reply

