Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

It’s strawberry season in North Carolina. I found a farm stand close to my house – Porter Farms in Willow Spring on Hwy 42. They have all sizes of containers for sale, and it’s even cheaper if you pick your own.

from the Porter Farms website

That night we had (store-bought) angel food cake with strawberries and whipped cream on top. Easy.

The next day I made fruit salad with a heavy emphasis on the strawberries. I added bananas, orange segments, pineapple, pear, apple, grapes and some peach nectar and sugar. I meant to top it with coconut flakes when serving, but forgot.  It was also good on the angel food cake with whipped cream, for breakfast.

The fruit salad starred again in white wine sangria. I didn’t add any other type of liquor to the wine as many recipes suggest. I put some of the fruit in the bottom of the glass and then added the wine with a bit more peach nectar. Oh boy. I have a feeling I will be making fruit salad a lot more often if it means sangria is on the menu.

flickr photo by ~MVI~

Next up to try is this Strawberry Dumpling recipe from The Kitchn (who got it from beloved and departed Gourmet). Check out the photos on their blog — how can you resist that? I’ll report back on how it turns out.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

