Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Why does a recipe you could easily make in one dish on the stove look more tempting if it’s made in a crockpot? I’m not a gadget gal, so that’s not it. Although it was originally a dump-and-cook recipe, I adapted it to coax more flavor out of the ingredients, so I ended up with the same amount of dishes to wash too. Hmm, the crockpot is a mysterious creature.

Seriously, I do know the answer. I would never leave the house with something cooking on the stove. But cooking in a crockpot? That’s a different story. Opening the front door and smelling Louisiana, okay, my less than authentic Louisiana, that’s why we use crockpots!

I made this for dinner the night Jim came back from a week away attending a conference and hiking in Nevada with his son. I wanted dinner to be ready as soon as I got back from picking them up at the airport. I didn’t want to fuss with anything on the stove or heat something up. Ah, the beauty of the crockpot.

I added the rice before I left the house and turned the crockpot to Low. When I got back I added the shrimp and waited until they were heated through to serve it up. And, oh, it was good. Don’t wait for Mardi Gras to try this one!

crockpot crock pot jambalay recipe

Laissez les bon temps roulez!

Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Serves 4

  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun or Creole seasoning
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 pound (or less) andouille sausage, diced – I used chicken sausage
  • 2 cups cooked rice (brown) — you may want more than 2 cups, I added at least 1 cup to the crockpot to soak up some of the liquid.
  • 1 pound peeled and cooked shrimp – buy American only, don’t support Asian slave labor!

Brown the chicken. Remove to a plate. Saute onion, green pepper and celery, and then garlic. In a slow cooker, combine chicken (and any juices), onion, green pepper, celery, garlic, tomatoes, tomato paste and chicken broth. Stir in oregano, Cajun seasoning, hot sauce, Worcestershire, bay leaves and thyme.

Stir in sausage (if pre-cooked) and some of the rice about 30 mins before end. Stir in thawed shrimp, cover and cook until shrimp is heated through, about 5 minutes before the end. Total cooking time: LOW for 5 hours or HIGH for 2-3 hours. Discard bay leaves and spoon mixture over the extra cooked rice.

Original recipe: Slow Cooker Jambalaya (Food Network)

5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Jambalaya

  1. That looks pretty darn good. My wife is a vegetarian who doesn’t like spicy food so this looks like a perfect anti-her dish I can have all for myself. 😀

    Cheers!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Thanks for stopping by. Just commented on your post-apocalyptic film post and now I’m afraid I’ll have nightmares about The War Game again.

      Definitely throw this jambalaya together when you can, and if you like things spicy, go heavy on the hot sauce. I was thinking that hot smoked paprika could be good in this too.

  2. kevin chavez says:

    I want to try this one!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      If you do, come back and let me know how it turned out and any changes you made to the recipe. Thanks, Kevin, for visiting.

Leave a Reply

