Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

By now, if you’re hosting Thanksgiving, you probably have your shopping done and your prep list ready to go. But before you get going, take a peek at what super kitchen scientist Harold McGee says about some common Thanksgiving turkey myths. He also shares Thanksgiving cooking tips with Serious Eats.

If, like me, you’re going elsewhere for Thanksgiving, you probably know what you’re bringing and will spend time today or tomorrow morning getting it  ready. If I had unlimited time, here are a few Thanksgiving ‘projects’ I wouldn’t mind trying. Maybe next year!

wild turkey crossing by Ingrid Taylar (flickr)

If you’re truly a last-minute type and still don’t know what to bring, here are a few posts that might give you a good idea.

  • The New York Times recently published another one of Mark Bittman’s 101 lists, 101 Head Starts on Thanksgiving – make ahead dishes that won’t take up a precious burner or oven space on the big day.
  • The Providence Journal shared recipes from the Thanksgiving food sections of several newspapers across the U.S.
  • The Thanksgiving page at Serious Eats displays their Food Lab posts that deconstruct and find the best recipes for many of the Thanksgivings classics. But the treasures are found in their Thanksgiving Recipe Roundups organized by type of dish.
  • The guys at The Bitten Word collected 175 recipes from the November 2010 issues of the top ten food magazines.

I found a few other good tips for getting the most bang out of your buck during the holiday season.

What are you making this year? Any tips to share?

8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Eve Kitchen Talk

  1. Tes says:

    We always been invited to Thanksgiving party but never hosted … but we love hosting New year party and I think I could use a lot of tips here. I also make turkey and beef on new year. We usually cook a lot which provide us leftovers for a week every year 🙂

    1. deirdrereid says:

      I love the leftovers, especially turkey/stuffing/cranberry/anything-else-I-can-think-of sandwiches — the one thing that’s missing when you don’t host Thanksgiving. I figure if I make that turkey cake, I’ll have more than my share of leftover sandwiches. I love your blog, Tes, it’s like traveling while staying home.

  2. Great post Deirdre! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. deirdrereid says:

      You’re welcome, Danielle. Happy first married Thanksgiving to you!

  3. teri says:

    I never seem to host Thanksgiving. Always Christmas…hmmmmm…

    I do, however, like the opportunity to concentrate on one thing or course instead of the whole circus. I usually take care of appetizers for my sister in law and have experimented with different things over the years. This year my challenge is taking the dead end cheese platter and turning it around. Today I made chutney, tapenade, compote, and bacon jam (!) to accompany some great cheeses and tomorrow I’m making crackers.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Wow, that is the cheese platter of my dreams! I love all those accompaniments with cheese. I could eat that for dinner the whole weekend and be so happy. Happy Thanksgiving, Teri!

  4. teri says:

    OK, Deirdre…I think I’m onto something. The crackers came out great. They’re barley flour based with a variety of seeds. But, what’s lacking here is a beer pairing! This board’s membership is crying out for a fleet of interesting brews! Next time I’m picking your brain ahead of time! Have a great T-day, my friend!!

Leave a Reply

