Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Sit down, let’s chat food. Sorry, the growler of Aviator King Rat Imperial Oatmeal Stout is kaput, but I made eggnog yesterday. Would you like me to pour you a glass? As always, there’s Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale chilling on the back porch.

Have you ever done Christmas shopping at the supermarket? Don’t laugh, on a Christmas Eve a few years ago I gathered the items for a football-watching gift basket at a Hannaford supermarket. My cousin loved it. Laurie Pawlik-Kienlen shares some other last minute Christmas gifts you can find at the supermarket.

My friend Heather found this list by Adriana Velez of holiday gifts for foodies whom you loathe. World’s largest gummie worm? That’s the stuff of nightmares, shiver.

If a leftover sad-looking supermarket crudité tray crosses your path this holiday party season, don’t let someone toss it out. Take it home. Give it a new better life. Roast the vegetables! Why I never thought of this before, I’ll never know, but thank you Cheryl Sternman Rule for providing the recipe.

food cooking recipe foie gras christmas

photo by Ernesto Andrade (flickr/VirtualEm)

I love foie gras. I’m sorry if that offends any of you. I think. Maybe not. For budgetary and caloric reasons, I don’t indulge in foie gras very often, but the next time I do, as long as the foie is made in the USA, I’m fine with it. The Serious Eats team recently visited a foie gras farm in New York to see for themselves how the geese are raised, fed and killed. They assure us, “We are especially lucky, because we happen to live in a country where all of the foie produced is good foie.

This is hilarious. Denise Vivaldo is the women behind the recipes in a Sandra Lee cookbook. “I wrote and sold the recipe for the Kwanzaa cake to Sandra Lee and, while I’m confessing my soul, yes, for Christ’s sake, the Chanukah cake, too. There, I said it. Forgive me Father.

My Blackberry Storm is dying; it’s only a matter of time. I’m buying myself a Droid for Christmas, so these two posts are keepers for me. Brona Cosgrave shares her favorite mobile apps for the kitchen, and Carrie Kirby writes about apps for the grocery store.

I hope you all enjoy these next two weeks of Christmas. Keep the spirit of Santa Claus alive. I wish all of you a very Merry Christmas!

food cooking recipe gifts Christmas crudite

print from the New York Public Library Digital Gallery collection

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Table: December 19, 2010

  1. Babygirl says:

    Very nice photo and post

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Thanks, I love Creative Commons and generous public libraries — great sources for photos. Merry Christmas to you!

  2. Mary Nations says:

    Yes I would like a glass of egg nog, please!
    My family is generally very happy with supermarket gift shopping. As my brother say, food gifts are good because you can eat them. Enough said!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      I’m thinking about a trip to the farmers market tomorrow for exactly that reason.

Leave a Reply

