Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

This week I’m offline for an at-home retreat — lots of reading, thinking, setting goals, making a visionboard, planning, and writing for pleasure. I’m digging into Patti Digh’s Creative is a Verb, Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, Rolf Gates’ Meditations from the Mat, Baron Baptiste’s 40 Days to Personal Revolution and a few other books, blogs and resources that have been wooing me.

Now you know why my blogs will be dark and my Twitter quiet. I’m pretending I’m in a cabin in the woods, not so hard to do really. I’ll be back next week!

Photo by James Lee

2 thoughts on “Offline Retreat Time

  1. Julie O. says:

    So jealous! That sounds amazing. Bird by Bird is fantastic. Love Anne Lammot. I’d be curious to hear what you think of the other books. I had never heard of them.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Patti Digh writes at 37 Days. I first discovered her there, then on Twitter and then in real life. I also highly recommend one of her other books, Life is a Verb. The other two are books I first encountered at my old yoga studio. The teachers would often read from Meditations from the Mat — short essays for each day of the year. The 40 Days book goes along with a yoga/wellness program created by Baron Baptiste, the teacher of my yoga teachers.

      I wrote about my retreat on my other blog, Reid All About It. I didn’t expect the four books to speak to each other but they often did, lots of synchronicities, which made the week all the more satisfying.

Leave a Reply

