Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Lately I’ve been making a large salad for dinner once a week. The first week I made Strawberry and Chicken Salad and last week I made a Georgia Grilled Chicken Salad. Curious, aren’t you? I’ll share the recipe on Friday. Chicken was the star ingredient of both plates, but not just any chicken. I used this Superfast Spicy Sweet Chicken.

It’s just what it says – superfast. You could play around with the spices, but this combination has been working for me. Use the chicken as the main dish or as a salad topping, burrito filling or sandwich filler. It would also be great in chicken salad, tacos or pasta.

I’m going to be focusing more on healthy low-fat recipes in the future because I just found out I have high cholesterol and HDL. No surprise. I eat like I’m invincible. That couldn’t last forever. Strangely enough this news came on the eve of a three day fruit fast that I’m doing as part of my 40 Days to Personal Revolution program. 40 Days is a yoga program I did three years ago at my old studio in Sacramento. I practice and meditate six days a week, increasing the duration each week. Luckily I’ve found podcasts from different studios around the country of 40 Days practices and guided meditation, so it hasn’t been too lonely.

I’m in Week 4 now, the week of the dreaded three day fruit fast. During my last fruit fast I didn’t do too well. I kept to the diet of fruit but was frustrated and angry throughout. It’s going much better this time, although I’m fantasizing about bread and cheese. And chicken.

Superfast Spicy Sweet Chicken

You’ll need a small bowl and a skillet.

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts or tenderloins
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder or ground chipotle, if you’d like a smoky hot flavor
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika (sweet or hot) or regular paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt, or you could use 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat grill or broiler if needed.

In a small bowl, mix the spices and brown sugar. Sprinkle and rub them onto the chicken.

Spray your grill, foiled-line broiler pan or skillet with cooking spray or smear with a bit of oil. Grill, broil or cook for about 5 minutes per side, or until done. The sugar will caramelize and darken so watch the heat. Let rest for five minutes.

One thought on “Superfast Spicy Sweet Chicken

Leave a Reply

