Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

The Tour de France is here! For the next three weeks I will be obsessed and distracted by the Tour. It’s my favorite sporting event of the year. Watching it live in the morning is never enough for me; I like watching the different version of commentary in the later show too. I did say “obsessed.”

While they’re at the Tour, cyclists eat like football linemen. The reports of their huge dinners will make your mouth water. Some take it even further, like one of my favorites, Radio Shack rider Chris Horner, winner of this year’s Tour of California, who’s famous for his In-n-Out binges. US time-trail champion David Zabriskie of the Garmin-Cervelo team is the complete opposite. He’s going vegan for this year’s Tour.

craft beer tour de france raleigh freelance writer

Garmin-Cervelo, today's team time-trial victors

Last weekend I discovered (and wrote about) a new summertime favorite, New Belgium Somersault Ale. It’s a kolsch beer, which according to the New York Times is a summer beer worth the fuss. It’s the perfect beer to have after a bike ride. Heck, it’s the perfect beer to have on any Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

I found a lovely series of appetite-whetting “cinemagraphs” of Sam Calagione brewing strawberry beer at Dogfish Head. I’d love to see that on draft or in bottle near me. Busy Bee Cafe, are you listening?

Up to now only a few people in my life knew about my fascination with the giant squid, Architeuthis. This week fisherman off Florida’s Atlantic coast pulled up a 23-foot long dead squid. Scientists have seen specimens up to 43-feet long. If you want to learn more about the sea monster that spooked sailors centuries ago, I recommend Richard Ellis’ The Search for the Giant Squid: The Biology and Mythology of the World’s Most Elusive Sea Creature.

craft beer tour de france raleigh freelance writer

33- and 40-foot squids found in Norway in 1896

Leave a Reply

