Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

I’m very excited because I plan to eat pizza tonight. I love pizza. Too much. What’s the special occasion? We’re packing tonight (and today) to go to Ocean Isle Beach here in North Carolina for our annual beach week with lots of family and friends. Four years ago I met my honey there. I was living in California at the time and went to OIB to visit my best friends from Virginia and their kids who were on their annual family vacation. A few days in I realized I had a huge crush on her cousin. And the rest is happy history.

Here’s a quick and easy Friday fish supper my honey and I had on Tuesday. I winged this recipe but remembered to note how much I was using of each ingredient. I must admit I used green can parmesan because that’s what I had on hand, so feel free to upgrade to something better.

I served the flounder with asparagus sautéed with orange juice and ginger (recipe forthcoming). I also made penne pasta with sautéed mushrooms, garlic and scallions, tossed with fresh chopped parsley, basil, thyme and oregano. I’m taking full advantage of my herb garden bounty since they may all die while we’re away at the beach. Maybe I’ll have time tonight for one last basil harvest and pesto-making session.

Grabbing the Gusto will be dark next week but if you want a quick recap of what I’ve been making lately, I did a brief summary over at my other blog, Reid All About It.

Baked Flounder with Parmesan Crumbs

You’ll need a small bowl and a baking dish large enough to hold the fish.

  • 3 fillets of flounder (about ¾ pound)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese
  • ¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons bread crumbs – I like panko bread crumbs
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon fresh oregano or 1 teaspoon dried oregano – or any herb
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat the oven to 425. In a large baking dish, sprinkle the fish with salt and pepper. Mix the Parmesan, bread crumbs, garlic powder, lemon zest, oregano, butter and olive oil in a small bowl. Spread the crumb mixture over the fillets. Bake for 15 minutes or until the fish is cooked and the crumb topping is golden.


Leave a Reply

