Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Here’s a house favorite. Since discovering this recipe on Simply Recipes, I’ve been incapable of making kale any other way. It’s a big hit in our household, even with someone, not me, who never liked kale before.

The ingredient amounts are merely suggestions. After you make this once, you’ll be comfortable buying any amount of kale and adjusting the onions and spices. One of these days I’m going to try adding chipotle to the onions; I’ll omit the smoked paprika when I do that. I’ll update the blog to let you know how chipotle works out.

To prepare the kale, I fold a leaf in half lengthwise, so the center rib is along the edge. With a small knife I cut down from the stem alongside the rib until I get to the point where the rib becomes thin enough to eat. In one cut, I remove the center rib this way. Compost (or toss) the ribs and stems. I bake leftover chard stems and ribs in a dish with olive oil, garlic and parmesan cheese. I suppose you could do the same with kale stems and ribs.

I toss the leaves as I go into a large bowl of cold water to wash away any soil. Once rinsed clean, I chop the leaves into manageable pieces.

Why am I determined to push this kale dish on you? Because it’s so delicious, plus anything that dark green has to be good for you. Alexander Moysaenko at Poor Taste Magazine can tell you all about the vitamins and minerals in kale and give you a bit of its history too.

If you still aren’t sure about this recipe, here’s an idea: mix it with mashed potatoes. I would eat that for breakfast.

sauteed kale smoked paprika onions recipe raleigh freelance writer copywriter

I'll replace this photo by Amy Stephenson with one of mine the next time I make this kale, promise.

Sautéed Kale with Smoked Paprika & Onions

You’ll need a large pot with lid, large bowl for rinsing, colander and a large deep pan.

  • 1 pound kale, stems and center ribs cut away, rinsed, leaves coarsely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped or sliced (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika, sweet or hot
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
  • Salt

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add 1 tablespoon of salt to the water. Add the chopped kale. Cook until wilted, about 5-6 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Heat oil in a large pan on medium heat. Add the onion and sauté until translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in the smoked paprika and crushed red pepper. Add the kale and sauté for several more minutes, until tender. Sprinkle on more salt and smoked paprika to taste.

Original recipe: Sautéed Kale with Smoked Paprika, Simply Recipes

One thought on “Sauteed Kale with Smoked Paprika and Onions

Leave a Reply

