Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Mr. Gorton, you are an intriguing and dashing man at the wheel of your ship in your yellow rain gear, but I don’t need you. You see, I have my own recipe now for fish sticks. But we can still be friends, right?

It’s true, I no longer have to tolerate those heavily battered, strangely squared, mystery pieces of fish in a box. Once again, Eating Well has come to the rescue with an easy and quick recipe for baked fish sticks. The first time I made them I used tilapia. I had planned to make them again last night with cod, but Jim brought home pizza, oh happy day, so I’ll make them tonight. Fish Friday!

When I used tilapia, I split the fillets in half lengthwise. Since my cod fillets are quite long, I’ll end up cutting them into a few pieces.

You can play with the spice combo – add more heat or herbs. After having it a second time, I think the coating needs more oomph, but that may be my tasted. I like panko breadcrumbs for a crunchier topping, but you could use regular seasoned or plain breadcrumbs. Don’t omit the whole-grain cereal; it adds flavor, color and nutrition.

homemade baked fish sticks recipe

Baked Fish Sticks

You’ll need a wire rack, baking sheet, food processor or blender and three shallow dishes.

  • Cooking spray
  • Heaping 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • Heaping 1/2 cup whole-grain cereal flakes
  • 1 teaspoon lemon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 large egg whites, beaten
  • 1 pound fish fillets, cut into 3” strips – tilapia, cod, halibut or pollock
  • Tartar or cocktail sauce, for serving

Preheat oven to 450. Set a wire rack on a baking sheet; coat with cooking spray.

Place breadcrumbs, cereal flakes, lemon pepper, garlic powder, paprika and salt in a food processor or blender and process until finely ground. Transfer to a shallow dish.

Place egg whites in a second shallow dish and flour in a third shallow dish. Line up the dishes: flour, egg and breadcrumbs. Dredge each strip of fish in the flour, dip it in the egg and then coat all sides with the breadcrumb mixture. Place on the prepared rack. Coat the top of the breaded fish with cooking spray.

Bake until the fish is cooked through and the breading is golden brown and crisp, about 10-12 minutes. Serve with tartar or cocktail sauce on the side.

Original Recipe: Eating Well Fish Sticks, Eating Well July/August 2007

2 thoughts on “Homemade Baked Fish Sticks

  1. Now, now… stop trying to make them sound posh… they are fish fingers, good and proper. I know because I did something very similar a while back! :D. They are incredibly delicious too. Try flavouring them with thyme and lemon – it’s delicious.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Ha ha, I’m making them right now and will take your suggestion. I already added lemon pepper, but next time, I agree that lemon zest would be a nice addition. I’m going to add some thyme tonight. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

