Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

It’s so easy to cook vegetables the same way all the time, especially when you find a recipe you like. I need to break out of my Broccoli with Garlic & Hot Pepper and Sautéed Kale with Smoked Paprika & Onions rut, but it will be difficult to do that until I find another fantastic recipe for those two vegetables.

I picked up some green beans one night because I don’t buy them enough. I wanted something green and they looked really fresh, for a change. Then I made a visit to Harris Teeter’s discount produce rack. You know how I love a good discount produce rack. For $1 I got a good-sized bag of mixed mushrooms – cremini, shiitake and oyster. They still looked okay, but probably didn’t have long to live. No problem, I would use them that night. My green bean dish was turning into a mushroom dish.

I knew I had tarragon and shallots in the refrigerator already. Soon a preparation started coming together in my mind. I winged it and it worked. The first time I made this it was really heavy on the mushrooms, more like Mushrooms with Green Beans and Tarragon. I’ve also added red bell pepper to the mix.

If you don’t have tarragon, try substituting basil, thyme or marjoram. Fresh is best, but if you can’t find fresh, use a heaping 1/2 teaspoon of dried. Taste to see if you want to add more.

green beans tarragon mushrooms recipe

Green Beans with Mushrooms and Tarragon

You’ll need a large skillet with lid.

  • Olive oil
  • 4 oz mushrooms, any type, sliced (about 1/2 a small package)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 large shallot, minced
  • 3/4 pound of green beans
  • 1/3 cup chicken broth (plus extra just in case)
  • 1/2 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste

Heat a large skillet over medium to medium-high heat. Add olive oil. When the oil is hot, add mushrooms and sauté a few minutes, until they’re starting to soften a bit. Add garlic and shallots. Sauté 1 minute, or until the garlic starts to golden.

Add green beans and toss it all together. Sauté for a few minutes, stirring. Add chicken broth and tarragon. Simmer until liquid evaporates or green beans are crisp-tender, whichever comes first.

If you’d like to cook your beans longer, add a bit more broth and cover the skillet for a few minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

4 thoughts on “Green Beans with Mushrooms & Tarragon

  1. TechieChef says:

    Tarragon is my special favorite. be it truffles or chicken, I love it….
    Excellent Post.

    Thanks for Sharing.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Ooooh, truffles, my oh my, you’re sending me into dream land.

  2. Yvette says:

    All sounds delicious to me! Fresh vegetables are the go, I’ve just planted all the seedlings for Summer crops. Fresh and homegrown always the best, but never go past the bargain corner at the grocers myself either!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      I was confused by your reference to summer but then realized you’re in Australia. Tonight I’m cutting down my basil plants for one last harvest and one last batch (or two) of pesto. We just picked the last of our grape tomatoes and I doubt the runty eggplants still on the vine will grow much more, we might as well take those in. And you’re just entering the season of abundance!

Leave a Reply

