Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

I’m happy to report that I now have two broccoli recipes in my regular rotation. If you regularly read my blog, you know I always make Broccoli with Garlic and Hot Pepper, a stovetop recipe. The stove can get pretty cramped when there are a lot of big pans working, so I’m glad to have a back-up recipe for the oven.

And what a back-up it is, a contender for the number one spot. I found it on the Clare Cooks blog. She was inspired by an Ina Garten (aka the Barefoot Contessa) recipe. It’s easy and quick – chop, toss, roast and toss.

The original recipe calls for pine nuts or almonds. I went with almonds because I had them, plus pine nuts are rather pricey. I’m not going to buy the cheaper Chinese pine nuts because, one, I prefer buying American, and two, there have been reports of people getting sick from Chinese nuts. The original recipe also gives an option for adding basil at the end. I no longer have any basil plants around so I omitted that, but I can imagine basil would complement the parmesan and lemon flavors.

The next time you buy broccoli, give this recipe a try, you’ll fall in love.

Parmesan and Lemon Roasted Broccoli | Grabbing the Gusto

Parmesan and Lemon Roasted Broccoli | Grabbing the Gusto

Parmesan & Lemon Roasted Broccoli 

You’ll need a large sealable plastic bag (0ptional) and large baking sheet or pan.

  • 1-1/2 pounds of broccoli — I like to buy broccoli crowns and cut just a little of the stem end off, then create long broccoli ‘flowers’ (see what I mean in the photo)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, or to taste
  • 3/4 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons slivered almonds, toasted
  • 2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Here’s the deal with the ingredients: I’ve made this several times and I never measure. I think these amounts are from the original recipe at the Clare Cooks blog. I just grab three or four broccoli crowns and start sprinkling. Wing it!

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. If you don’t like getting your hands oily, place the broccoli, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper in a plastic bag. Seal bag and shake to coat the broccoli. Spread out on the pan.

Or, toss the broccoli and olive oil on a sheet pan. Spread out on the pan and sprinkle with the garlic, salt and pepper.

Roast for 20-25 minutes, until crisp-tender and the tips of some of the florets are browned.

Remove the broccoli from the oven and immediately toss with lemon zest, lemon juice, almonds and Parmesan.

Original recipe: Parmesan-Roasted Broccoli, Clare Cooks

Leave a Reply

