Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

This recipe was a pleasant surprise. I knew it had to be good, the ingredients promised that, but it surpassed my expectations. It reminds me of a Tuscan white bean dish but the flavors are a bit different, in fact, this dish is bolder, plus it has shrimp. Oh, yeah.

Lowes Foods had large North Carolina shrimp on sale last week for $5.99. What a price! Shrimp had the starring role in our dinners twice. Another night I made a Thai red curry dish with shrimp – that recipe’s to come.

Originally a Martha Stewart recipe, the guys at The Bitten Word made suggestions to improve it, and I listened, plus made a few of my own. I didn’t use a cast-iron skillet because, well, frankly, Jim uses ours for tailgating and it looked like it needed a good cleaning. I wasn’t in the mood to deal with it, so I used a Dutch oven instead.

Although the recipe looks pretty simple, it is packed with flavor. I was surprised at how good it was. The addition of capers is genius, although the next time I make it I will use less than the 2 tablespoons in the original recipe because their flavor was a bit overpowering. I made a few other changes: added red pepper flakes, lemon juice and fresh oregano, and substituted white wine for some of the chicken broth.

Have a baguette or garlic bread on hand because you’ll want to soak up the tasty sauce.

shrimp broiled white beans tomatoes recipe

Shrimp Broiled with White Beans and Tomatoes

You’ll need a large heavy oven-safe skillet or Dutch oven and two bowls.

  • 2 cups grape tomatoes
  • 1 can (15.5 ounces) white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons brine-packed capers, rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic (about 4 cloves)
  • 1/2 teaspoon red hot pepper flakes
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  • Salt
  • 1 pound large shrimp, shelled and deveined – buy American only, don’t support Asian slave labor!
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh oregano

Heat broiler. Preheat a large, heavy ovenproof skillet or Dutch oven on top rack for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, toss together tomatoes, beans, capers, garlic, red pepper flakes, lemon juice, 1 tablespoon oil and 1/2 teaspoon salt in a bowl. Toss shrimp with remaining tablespoon oil and 1/4 teaspoon salt in another bowl.

Remove skillet from oven and add tomato mixture. It will sizzle. Put the skillet back in the oven and broil until the tomatoes are charred and beginning to collapse, about 5 minutes. Remove from oven, and stir in broth and wine, then the shrimp. Return to the oven to broil for 2 minutes, then stir in the oregano. Return to the oven and broil until the shrimp are opaque, about 1 or 2 minutes more. Drizzle with oil, if you wish.

Original recipe: Broiled Shrimp with Tomatoes and White Beans, The Bitten Word

2 thoughts on “Shrimp Broiled with White Beans and Tomatoes

  1. Karen says:

    I really like your recipe and will use your tip to decrease the amount of capers. I make a meal using beans several times a month…I just made one the other day.

  2. deirdrereid says:

    When I made it I used 2 tablespoons and thought it might be better with just a bit less caper power, so I decreased the amount in the recipe to 1-1/2 tablespoons. Start there and see what you think. I need to make more beans from scratch, maybe in a slow cooker so I don’t have to even think about them. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

