Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

I’m still pushing autumn flavors over here at Gusto. You might have cranberry overdose next week, but in case you’re like me — never enough cranberries — you’ll like this one.

Cranberries and apples and cider — what a line up! This Eating Well recipe will take you less than 30 minutes to prepare, something my birthday buddy Rachael Ray would approve.

What do you think about Rachael? Most people either love or hate her. Doesn’t she seem like someone you could hang out with? You know she’d talk your ear off, but I can relate to that. I imagine hanging out with her in the living room, with our guys, watching hockey, drinking beer, making snacks and having a good old time. It’s not weird that I imagine scenes like this, is it?

I served this with brown and wild rice that I had cooked a few weeks back and stored in the freezer. I love that combo of rice but it takes too darn long to cook. So every now and then, when I have the time, I cook up a big pot and portion it out into quart-sized freezer bags. I sauteed some mushrooms, onions and garlic and mixed the thawed rice in to reheat it.

I also served my usual Broccoli with Garlic and Hot Pepper as a side too.

Yum. Just looking at it, I’m thinking I want to make this again real soon.

chicken cranberries apples recipe quick dinner

Chicken with Cranberries and Apples

You’ll need a large skillet with lid.

  • 1 pound chicken tenderloins, trimmed and cut in half
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried thyme, divided
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil, divided
  • 2 crisp red apples, such as Braeburn, Fuji, Gala or Arkansas Black, thinly sliced – I left the peel on
  • 1 large red onion, quartered and sliced
  • 3/4 cup apple cider or apple juice, divided
  • 1 cup cranberries, fresh or frozen (thawed)
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

Sprinkle both sides of chicken with 1/4 teaspoon each thyme, salt and pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium and add the chicken. Cook, stirring, until lightly browned on all sides, 3 to 4 minutes total. Transfer to a plate.

Add the remaining tablespoon oil to the pan. Add apples, onion, 2 tablespoons cider (or juice) and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon each thyme and salt. Stir to combine. Cook, stirring often, until the apples and onion are softened, 3 to 4 minutes.

Add cranberries and sprinkle flour over everything in the pan; cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Return the chicken to the pan and pour in the remaining cider (or juice). Cover and cook, stirring once or twice, until the sauce has thickened and the chicken is cooked through, about 3 minutes more.

Original recipe: Skillet Chicken with Cranberries and Apples, Eating Well, September/October 2011

6 thoughts on “Chicken with Cranberries and Apples

  1. Lisa says:

    What an interesting recipe! I remain intrigued about ways to incorporate cranberries into edible (not too sour!) dishes!

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Strangely enough, it works too. It’s funny, I was just thinking that I need to use up some cranberries in the freezer and was planning to make this again next week. Thanks for visiting, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

