Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

A refreshing peach salsa with peppers, onion and jalapeno is a great complement to fish, chicken or pork.

~~~

My mission this month: to cook with as much local produce as I can.

After picking up peaches at a farm stand, I searched the web for new recipes. I have lots of peach dessert recipes but my belly doesn’t need that kind of temptation. I found this recipe in a slide show on Food & Wine’s site. I’m not a fan of this increasingly common website feature – slide shows – because I want to skip through them more quickly than the pages usually load. But, this time my tested patience had its reward.

The original recipe used chicken, but I wanted fish for dinner. After a review of likely candidates at the fish counter, I decided on tilapia. I added a few ingredients to Food & Wine’s salsa recipe – red bell pepper and red onion. I substituted panko for regular bread crumbs because I like panko’s heftier crunch. I also added an egg to the dredging process so the coating would adhere well.

The recipe was a big hit, even with the guy who’s not a fan of fruit on his dinner plate. He’s learning. I served the tilapia with summer squash “pasta” – another surprising hit, I’ll share that recipe later this week. Parmesan and Lemon Roasted Broccoli completed our plate — an old stand-by for a night with two new recipes.

I love the idea of fruit salsas with fish. Maybe a plum salsa next time? Know any good recipes? I’d also love to find a fruit salsa that’s bold enough for wild salmon. Any ideas?

Tilapia with Peach Salsa | Grabbing the Gusto | Try the peach salsa recipe on fish, chicken or pork for your next dinner.

Tilapia with Peach Salsa | Grabbing the Gusto

Tilapia with Peach Salsa

You’ll need a bowl for the salsa, two shallow bowls for dredging (or one bowl and one plate), large frying pan, and a paper towel-lined plate.

  • 2 large peaches, peeled, pitted, and cut into 1/3-inch dice
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and minced
  • 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1-2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons yellow cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 4 tilapia fillets
  • 2-4 tablespoons peanut or canola oil, for frying

In a bowl, combine the peaches, jalapeño, red bell pepper, red onion, lime juice, and sugar.

Put egg in a shallow bowl. In another shallow bowl or plate, toss together the flour, bread crumbs, cornmeal, salt, thyme, and cayenne. Dredge fish in the egg. Let the excess egg drip off and then dredge both sides of the fish in the bread crumb mixture, patting it with crumbs so it’s thoroughly coated.

Heat oil in a large heavy skillet. Add the fish and cook over medium-high heat until golden on the bottom, about 2 minutes for tilapia (adjust for thicker fillets). Turn the fillets and cook, turning occasionally, until the pieces are golden brown and cooked through, about 2 minutes for tilapia. Remove to a paper towel-lined plate.

Serve with the peach salsa.

Original recipe: Chicken with Peach-Jalapeño Salsa, Food & Wine

~~~

1 year ago on Gusto: Cod with Tomato Cream Sauce

2 years ago: Shrimp Pesto Pasta

 

7 thoughts on “Tilapia with Peach Salsa

  1. This looks awesome! That is great that you are cooking more local produce. I actually was looking for a savory peach recipe and made peach gnocchi on my blog. Anyway great post…thanks for sharing, yum!

  2. sybaritica says:

    That’s very nice… I might try that with Arctic Char 🙂

  3. Carolina says:

    it looks very good! 🙂

    1. deirdrereid says:

      It’s best when peaches are in season, Carolina, but you could probably make it with frozen peaches or rinsed canned ones.

      1. Carolina says:

        I may wait and make it at home by summer when my dad’s peaches are ready and juicy! 🙂 Thank you!

  4. lhennion says:

    Had this tonight with perfect Southern Oregon peaches. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!

  5. deirdrereid says:

    You’ve reminded me to put this on my “make this week” list, thanks!

Leave a Reply

