Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

If you rather try my “deluxe” version with mushrooms, poblano, carrot, onion and bacon, check out Creamed Collards (or Greens) Deluxe.

All of a sudden, it’s December. And the holiday season. My brain hasn’t really absorbed that fact. I love this season but I’m not prepared. This week, I’ll rev myself up so, by the weekend, I’m ready. Ready, mentally. I’m far from prepared for the rest of it although I did get some Cyber Monday shopping done.

But, surprise surprise, there’s one thing I am prepared for – indulgence. I give myself a pass during this season. I pull out all those unhealthy recipes, like eggnog, that I wouldn’t even think about the rest of the year. I may not go whole hog this year like I usually do because I’m finally losing a little bit of weight, thank you Fitbit, and I don’t want to blow my hard work. Thanksgiving did some damage. Well, Thanksgiving and the leftovers, pie, and other indulgences before and after.

Creamed spinach is not in my usual repertoire. The only time I ever make it is for a Christmas party or Christmas Eve dinner or something like that. Why have I been cheating myself? It’s greens, right? Ha ha, nice try. But, I have managed to cut back on some of the fat in this recipe. I keep the portion of greens heavy in proportion to the cream. I don’t like the greens floating in cream. I like the cream just coating the greens.

Last week, inspired by Nutmeg Nanny, I made creamed tatsoi and kale. That’s an excellent combination for this recipe because both of those greens have more substance than spinach. They’re not as mooshy. Experiment with the greens you have on hand. You can also play around with the cream cheese and the milk/cream ingredients. Onions instead of shallots would work too.

Creamed Greens (kale, tatsoi or spinach) | Grabbing the Gusto

Creamed Greens | Grabbing the Gusto

Creamed Spinach, Tatsoi or Kale

You’ll need a steamer and pot with lid, and a large pan.

  • 1-1/2 pounds coarsely chopped spinach, tatsoi and/or kale, thick ribs/stems removed
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup minced shallots (or onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 ounces low-fat or regular cream cheese, Boursin cheese (I like garlic and herb) or Rondelé cheese
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup whole milk (or mix of 2% and cream)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Place a steamer insert into a pot. Pour about an inch of water into the pot. Bring to a soft boil. Put greens in steamer, cover pot and let steam until the greens are wilted. Set aside.

Melt butter and heat oil in a large pan over low heat. Once the butter is melted, add shallots and sauté until soft. Then, add garlic and sauté until fragrant.

Add cream cheese or Boursin to the pan. Break it up with a spatula, encouraging it to melt in the pan. Once it’s mostly melted, stir in the steamed greens, then the Parmesan. Stir in only 1/3 cup of the milk. Add more milk if it’s not creamy enough. Season with salt and pepper and serve hot (or warm.)

~~~

1 year ago on Gusto: Cauliflower Faux Fried Rice

2 years ago: Italian Fig Cookies – Cucidati for Christmas

3 years ago: Chicken with Cranberries and Apples

4 years ago: Parmesan-Crusted Tilapia

5 thoughts on “Creamed Greens – Kale, Tatsoi or Spinach

  1. janegundogan says:

    Looks good, I’ve got some Swiss Chard, wonder how that would turn out.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      I bet it would be tasty — definitely worth the try. I love the deep flavor of chard. Save the stems and bake them in a small baking dish with some olive oil, garlic and parmesan cheese — presto, another side!

Leave a Reply

