Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Our CSA Share - tatsoi, kohlrabi, cauliflower, cabbage, spinach, red leaf lettuce | Grabbing the Gusto

Our CSA Share | Grabbing the Gusto

Look at our tatsoi bouquet. Is that wild or what?

Tatsoi

I don’t know if anything can top the creamed tatsoi and kale I made last week, but I’m always game to try new recipes. Normally when I’m in the just-get-it-done mode, I sauté some onion, maybe some mushrooms and/or sweet peppers, add garlic, red pepper flakes, then the tatsoi with a bit of water or chicken broth, and let it cook, sometimes covered, until it softens up.

If you do a search for “tatsoi” on Pinterest, you’ll see lots of Asian recipes, but you can use tatsoi in any dish that calls for kale, spinach, chard or other greens. Try putting some in your smoothie, or using it in place of spinach in salads. How about a one-skillet meal of tatsoi with white beans, sun-dried tomatoes, onions, mushrooms and chicken sausage?

Kohlrabi

As much as I love kohlrabi parmesan, it’s time to branch out. I like the looks of these kohlrabi carrot fritters from Becca Pusey at Great British Chefs.

Or, if I’m feeling lazy, these chili-dusted kohlrabi fries from Five and Spice.

Cauliflower

Cauliflower, the kitchen chameleon. It’s faux fried rice, it’s pizza crust, and it’s the cheese sauce in mac and cheese. Don’t worry, there’s cheese in there too. I’ve made The Lemon Bowl’s cauliflower mac and cheese before. We were expecting it to taste “healthy,” but it was absolutely delicious. I should have known, her recipes are always good.

I changed the recipe a bit to make it more like a béchamel. I sautéed onion and garlic, added a bit of butter, olive oil and flour to make a roux. Then I whisked in the milk, and let it simmer and thicken before adding the other ingredients.

Plan B, if I’m lazy, is to roast the florets Sicilian-style, following the lead of the Scarpetta Dolcetto blog.

Cabbage

Stuffed cabbage cake from Proud Italian Cook is still on my list. One of these days.

Have you ever added cabbage to tuna or salmon salad like this recipe on The Kitchn? I think I would love the crunch. Bok choy or tatsoi stems might also provide the crunch factor. Now I’m remembering a place in Sacramento that always added long strips of cucumber to tuna melts – dang, it’s been too long since I’ve had a tuna melt. The refreshing cold crunch of cucumber amidst the warm, cheesy tuna was so good.

Spinach and red leaf lettuce

One word: salad. It’s amazing how much better salads taste when your greens are only a day or two out of the ground. We’re spoiled.

I’d love to hear your ideas for these ingredients – please share!

Our CSA Share - tatsoi, kohlrabi, cauliflower, cabbage, spinach, red leaf lettuce | Grabbing the Gusto

Our CSA Share | Grabbing the Gusto

2 thoughts on “Our CSA Share: 12.5.14

  1. Mary Tate says:

    Tatsoi — I had never heard of it and love learning about new foods. Is the nutritional content similar kale, spinach etc? And my own Cabbage Casserole is a staple on Gregg and Susan’s table on Christmas Eve.

    1. deirdrereid says:

      Yes, according to this site (and a few others that I came upon while googling), it does pack a nutritional punch — http://www.healwithfood.org/health-benefits/tatsoi-greens.php.

      Also, just saw a commercial for White Christmas — it’s the 60th anniversary. AMC, 7 p.m., Friday, December 12. 🙂

Leave a Reply

