Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Our CSA share from In Good Heart Farm | Grabbing the Gusto

Our CSA share from In Good Heart Farm | Grabbing the Gusto

Tis the season for a festive tablecloth! This week, our CSA share from In Good Heart Farm included some old friends (hello, tatsoi) and a bunch of new pretty little thangs.

Kale and Tatsoi

Last night I made a polenta, cheese and collards recipe something like this one from The Splendid Table. Instead of following their polenta recipe, I used my easy microwave polenta recipe – it takes much less time and requires less stirring than traditional recipes. I built the dish in a casserole: polenta on the bottom, then greens, then mozzarella and the rest of the polenta on the top. Yum. You could use any type of greens – kale, tatsoi, spinach, beet, turnip, chard or whatever you have. I think greens are pretty interchangeable in recipes.

I love the looks of this Kale and Wild Rice Casserole from Half Baked Harvest. It would make a super holiday side dish.

We always seem to have leftover greens in our frig. Yesterday I made a frittata out of leftover tatsoi. The tatsoi had been cooked with mushrooms, onions and garlic, so I just reheated it in a pan and added the beaten eggs. Once it started to set on top, I shaved some pecorino romano over it. It made enough for a few breakfasts so as soon as I publish this, I’m going to reheat a slice.

Tatsoi Frittata | Grabbing the Gusto

Tatsoi Frittata | Grabbing the Gusto

Sweet potatoes

Can you believe it – more sweet potatoes to add to the box of sweet potatoes in our guest room. That’s fine with me, I will never say “no” to a sweet potato. I made this Sweet Potato Gratin with Smoky Breadcrumbs from The Kitchn a while back and it’s really good.

Here are a few other sweet potato recipes that I have my eye on:

watermelon radishes | Grabbing the Gusto

Say hello to our pretty watermelon radishes | Grabbing the Gusto

Watermelon radishes, romaine lettuce and broccoli

These items are all destined for our salads. Have you ever had a watermelon radish? They’re so gorgeous in a salad and mild enough for all tastes.

Cabbage

I’ve made this simple Roasted Cabbage Wedges recipe from Greenlitebites a few times. You can put it together quickly and then ignore it — perfect for busy December nights.

This recipe looks intriguing: Southern Slow Cooker Choucroute with smoked sausage, cabbage, apples and onions. I don’t know why it’s considered southern, but it would be perfect for a chilly day.

Do you have any suggestions for these seasonal ingredients?

Leave a Reply

