Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

There’s not much on the menu this week because I’m heading to a conference tomorrow and won’t be back until Thursday. Tonight we’re having leftover slow cooker chicken Marsala, a recipe from Simple Nourished Living that I tweaked a bit. I used thighs, instead of breasts, which melted in the cooker – so flavorful. I added pancetta and oregano to the ingredients because why not. This is serious comfort food.

We’re also having leftover polenta and collards casserole. I made some easy microwave polenta, added some parmesan cheese and butter, and spread half of it on the bottom of a baking dish. On top of that I added ribbons of collards that I had sautéed with onions, garlic, red pepper flakes and a bit of lemon juice. Then I layered on some sliced mozzarella and topped it all with the rest of the polenta. That’s a keeper!

Prepping the collards | Grabbing the Gusto

Prepping the collards | Grabbing the Gusto

The only dish I’ll make tonight is green bean casserole. I loooove my recipe and want to share it with you but when I made it for Thanksgiving, I forgot to take photos – not that my photos are anything great (and that will change in the future, I promise), but I can no longer post a recipe without at least one decent (sort of) photo.

When I get back on Thursday, I have dinner duty but I’m thinking that Jim will have some leftover meat of some kind because right now he’s defrosting way too much for just him. I’ll complement whatever he has leftover with the sweet potato and beet galette from Bakeaholic Mama that I’ve had my eye on for a while.

We’ll need a green, so our old friend tatsoi will do just fine. If we don’t have any Jim leftovers, I’ll make cauliflower mac & cheese too – it’s a recipe I adapted from The Lemon Bowl.

Cauliflower Mac & Cheese | Grabbing the Gusto

Cauliflower Mac & Cheese | Grabbing the Gusto

We’re due for a salmon fix, so on Friday I’ll make slow-roasted salmon with cabbage, bacon and dill with sweet potatoes on the side.

I’m sure by the time next weekend comes, I’ll have some kitchen projects for Saturday on my mind. Maybe roasted chestnuts, or something festive, sweet and yummy for Sunday morning?

What’s on your menu this week?

Leave a Reply

