Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

What do my blog statistics say about you and your fellow readers?

  • Like me, you’re on the hunt for recipes for newer-to-market ingredients, like kohlrabi and ribbonfish.
  • Holiday recipes are popular.
  • Root vegetables are huge – “roasted butternut squash cubes” was by far the most popular search term this year.

Here are the most popular recipes I published in 2014.

Kohlrabi Parmesan

Kohlrabi is becoming more popular now that it’s showing up in CSA shares and on farmers’ market tables. And that’s probably why this easy Kohlrabi Parmesan recipe was the most popular of all recipes I published in 2014.

Braised Ribbonfish

What the heck is ribbonfish, you ask? I had the same question when I first brought home one of these silvery eel-like fish from the local seafood market. And I didn’t have much success finding a recipe so I created one for Braised Ribbonfish.

Holiday Bundt Cake

Bundt cakes are always so pretty, especially when iced. And when flavored with pumpkin, apple, pecan, maple and warm winter spices, it’s no wonder this Holiday Bundt Cake is so popular.

Hoisin Pork with Napa Cabbage

I’m a sucker for anything hoisin and maybe you are too. You can substitute chicken thighs for the pork in this Hoisin Pork with Napa Cabbage recipe.

Smoky Spicy Collard Greens

Collard greens are the fifth most popular 2014 recipe? Who would have thunk it? But this Smoky Spicy Collard Greens for Collardphobes is full of bold irresistible flavor, so I’m not surprised.

Kohlrabi Parmesan | Grabbing the Gusto

Kohlrabi Parmesan accompanied by squash and snap pea pesto and chicken with anchovy-basil pan sauce | Grabbing the Gusto

The most popular posts in 2014 were from years gone by — the oldies but goodies.

Italian Fig Cookies

This recipe was the most popular of my posts this year. I originally published the recipe for Italian Fig Cookies for Christmas 2012. I didn’t make any this year but I have a feeling next year will be a cookie-heavy year now that we have a chest freezer.

Baked Buzzards Bay Scallops

Scallops the way my mum makes them – I’m happy to see that this was the second most popular post this year. Such a simple yet tasty recipe for Baked Buzzards Bay Scallops.

Roasted Butternut Squash Cubes

Another recipe that’s dear to my heart, Roasted Butternut Squash Cubes is the most popular recipe of all time on my blog, and number three in popularity this year. Everyone’s roasting squash these days. Just recently, I published an updated version of roasted butternut squash, adding maple syrup, bacon, garlic, cayenne, cinnamon and thyme.

Sticky Sweet Spicy Chinese Takeout Chicken

I forgot all about this recipe and, lordy, now I’m remember just how good it is. It’s time to put it on the menu, and not just because I have to take a better photo than the one I published. Yikes. How can you go wrong with a glaze of brown sugar, honey, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, Sriracha and orange peel? That’s Sticky Sweet Spicy Chinese Takeout Chicken, yum.

Baked Stuffed Chicken with Pesto and Mozzarella

I’m a huge advocate of making a mess of basil pesto in the summer and fall and freezing it in ice cube trays so you always have pesto on hand for recipes like Baked Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Pesto and Mozzarella.

Italian Fig Christmas Cookies (Cucidati) | Grabbing the Gusto

Italian Fig Christmas Cookies (Cucidati) | Grabbing the Gusto

My favorite 2014 recipes were the sleepers waiting to be discovered. I especially love these five dishes.

Monkfish à l’Américaine – my number one swoon.

Green Bean Casserole – a “from scratch” version of the famous casserole that has reached perfection, just my humble opinion.

Penne with Chicken Apple Sausage and Walnut Pesto – we loved this one, walnut pesto has become a new favorite.

Cauliflower Crust Pizza – another recipe that shattered our perceptions of pizza in an absolutely positive way.

Maple Walnut Salmon – maple, walnut, salmon, what’s not to like, another new favorite.

Your turn! I’d love to hear about your Gusto favorites or favorites from other blogs.

Leave a Reply

