Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Sicilian-style roasted cauliflower with raisins, garlic, red pepper flakes, capers, lemon, breadcrumbs, parmesan, parsley and more. Fabulous.

~~~

I love dishes that combine a bit of heat with a hint of sweet and a touch of tangy too. This cauliflower dish has it all.

The first two times I made this I followed a recipe from the Scarpetta Dolcetto blog—no need to change anything. But the last time I made it I added raisins and pine nuts because I had just made spinach with raisins and pine nuts and I love the little pops of sweetness raisins give to a savory dish. But, I forgot to take photos of the raisin-enhanced cauliflower. Next time.

I just noticed that Kate from Scarpetta Dolcetto hasn’t blogged since January 2013. Do you ever wonder what happened to bloggers who disappear? I know I’ve done it, and if you ever wondered, I’m sorry about that. I was under the mistaken impression that I didn’t have time to blog here. It’s not like I have lots of time now–I’m writing this late at night while Jim’s already in bed–but I know that once I start writing for Gusto, I really love doing it, so I’m making the time. But it’s easy to forget what your blog means to you until you rediscover it.

It’s especially sad when a blogger disappears who seems to have the same taste in food as you, and Scarpetta Dolcetto was right up my alley. But, I’m guessing, she probably didn’t get a lot of traffic and wondered if the time to plan posts, develop recipes, take photos, write, edit, upload and schedule posts was worth it. After all, who’s paying attention? Yup, I get that. Whenever I’m up late writing a post and those same thoughts occur to me I remember how much I appreciate the blogs of others and how often I am inspired by their recipes. If one of my recipes inspires just one person, I’m happy. It’s sort of my way of paying it forward.

So, cheers to all of you bloggers. I’m so grateful you’re sharing your kitchen creations with the rest of us. And, Kate, if you ever read this, I’m sure I’m not the only one who misses your creations.

Sicilian-Style Roasted Cauliflower recipe | Grabbing the Gusto

Sicilian-Style Roasted Cauliflower | Grabbing the Gusto

Sicilian-Style Roasted Cauliflower

You’ll need a rimmed baking sheet, small saucepan and two small bowls.

  • 1 large head cauliflower (about 2 pounds)
  • 2 + 1 + 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt, to your taste
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cups panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 anchovy fillets, minced
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 2 teaspoons capers, drained, rinsed
  • 2-3 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 450. Core the cauliflower and cut into fork-sized florets. Toss the florets on a baking sheet with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Spread the florets evenly on the pan and roast, stirring once or twice, about 20 minutes.

Soak raisins in very hot water in a small bowl, 10-15 minutes. Drain.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, mix the breadcrumbs with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Toast, stirring, over medium heat until browned. Transfer the breadcrumbs to a small bowl and toss them with the parmesan, parsley and red pepper flakes. Wipe down the saucepan with a paper towel.

In the saucepan, heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil and the anchovy over medium heat. Break up the anchovy until it’s mostly dissolved into the olive oil. Add the garlic and pine nuts, and cook, stirring, for 1-2 minutes. Take off the heat and stir in the capers, lemon juice and raisins. Set aside.

In a serving dish, toss the roasted cauliflower with the warm olive oil mixture and top with the breadcrumbs.

Original recipe: Roasted Cauliflower, Scarpetta Dolcetto

~~~

1 year ago on Gusto: Asian-Style Braised Ribbonfish (or your choice of fish)

2 years ago: Sweet Potato and Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

3 years ago: Italian Sausage with Roasted Grapes and Polenta

4 years ago: Pesto Mashed Potatoes

Leave a Reply

