Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Quick, before all the summer squash is picked, try this “pasta.” Ok, it’s not really a pasta; it just sort of looks that way.

I’ve seen pseudo-pasta recipes before, usually for spaghetti squash. In colder seasons, when I’m getting tired of butternut squash, acorn squash, and their winter squash cousins, I often make an Italian “pasta” side dish using spaghetti squash.

This “pasta” recipe from Whole Foods Market comes together quickly. Instead of using the whole squash, I only peeled it down to the seeds. Once I hit the seeds, I stopped, and used the remaining squash skeletons for omelets and other sides.

I didn’t have oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I heated my dried sun-dried tomatoes (oy, that’s redundant) in some olive oil to plump them up a bit before adding them to the other ingredients.

The leftovers made a good snack and would also probably be good tossed with real pasta, like fettuccine or tagliatelle.

Summer Squash "Pasta" with Tomatoes and Herbs from Grabbing the Gusto

Summer Squash “Pasta” with Tomatoes and Herbs

You’ll need a vegetable peeler (or mandolin) and a large bowl.

  • 2 zucchini squash, shaved thinly lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • 2 yellow summer squash, shaved thinly lengthwise with a vegetable peeler
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
  • 5 oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped basil
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped oregano

In a large bowl, gently toss together all ingredients. Transfer to a platter and serve immediately.

Original recipe: Raw Vegetable “Pasta” with Tomatoes and Herbs

7 thoughts on “Summer Squash “Pasta” with Tomatoes and Herbs

  1. deirdrereid says:

    You’re welcome. I just subscribed to your blog’s RSS feed. I need more healthy options floating through my streams, especially with cooler weather coming — comfort fatty food is too tempting!

  2. Carolina says:

    Love the idea of zucchini squash as a pasta plate, looks so healthy and at the same time so delicious! I will have to try this one! 🙂 thank you for sharing! 🙂

    1. deirdrereid says:

      It takes some prep with all that peeling, but it’s such a different refreshing take on summer vegetables.

      1. Carolina says:

        I believe so! The wait will be worth it! 🙂

Leave a comment