Grabbing the Gusto

Deirdre Reid – Freelance Writer & Home Cook

Menu ideas and recipes for bluefish, tilefish, sweet bell peppers, zucchini, corn and greens

Menu ideas and recipes for bluefish, tilefish, sweet bell peppers, zucchini, corn and greens

Bluefish and tilefish recipes

If you like spicy, check out this recipe for cherry pepper sauce. Although meant for pork chops, I made it for bluefish. I also added eggplant (in season!), onions and basil. It’s a keeper.

My mint was getting leggy and in need of a serious pruning so I made a coconut mint chutney to serve with blueline tilefish. To me, it’s more like a pesto than a chutney, but nevertheless, tasty.

Update: Reading this article on Indian-style chutney, now I realize it really is a chutney. Learn something new every day.

Discovery of the week: shrimp kielbasa

Sunday’s dinner was the highlight of the week thanks to shrimp kielbasa from Locals Seafood. OMG. So good. I’ll buy more of that.

Menu ideas and recipes for bluefish, tilefish, sweet bell peppers, zucchini, corn and greens

This savory summer clafoutis is nothing much to look at but it’s really tasty

Savory summer clafoutis

The Sunday sides weren’t too shabby either. First, a sweet bell pepper and zucchini clafoutis. I subbed sour cream for crème fraîche, and added corn, onion and jalapeno. It wasn’t as pancake-y as fruit clafoutis I’ve made, more like a frittata, but plenty tasty.

A new ingredient for greens

My regular collards got an upgrade thanks to ground chorizo. I often add bacon to my greens but chorizo, wow. The rest of the mix included red bell and corno del toro peppers, onion, carrots and jalapeño.

Until next week, stay awkward, brave and kind.*

*I picked this up from Brené Brown, known mostly as a shame researcher, whose podcast I’ve been enjoying lately. She also said, shame is not a tool for social justice, but for oppression. I wish more people would listen to her and shut up.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Leave a comment